© 2018 The CIP Group.  All Rights Reserved

Terms of Use

 

Securities Offered Through DaVinci Capital Management, Inc.

799 Cambridge St., Cambridge, MA 02141 
617-354-3222 I Member FINRASIPC
MSRB

Learn more about our firm and investment professionals at FINRA BrokerCheck

Featured Posts

October 21, 2019

Health Insurance Responsibility Disclosure: Massachusetts

Attention Massachusetts Employers with Six or More Employees in Massachusetts. Filing can be done as early as November 15, 2019 on the MassTaxConnect (MTC) Web Portal. The Annual Health Insurance Responsibility Disclosure (HIRD) Form is due no later than December 15, 2019.

In 2018, the state of Massachusetts re-introduced the HIRD form.  The...

October 18, 2019

What happened.  On September 30, 2019 , the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC) charged in a lawsuit Assisted Living Concepts, LLC d/b/a Enlivant and North Brook Place, a national owner and operator of senior living facilities, violated federal law by failing or refusing to make a reasonable accommodation to an employee with a disability resulting in her termination.

According to th...

October 4, 2019

What happened.  Exempt employees, because of their rate of pay and type of work that they do, are not eligible for overtime pay for hours worked over 40 in a workweek. Non-exempt employees must be paid time and a half for any hours worked more than 40 in a workweek. On September 24, the Department of Labor announced a final rule changing the salary-test for determining whether an employe...

September 30, 2019

IMPORTANT DEADLINE

Massachusetts employers have through today Monday, September 30, 2019 to ensure they distribute Individual notices to their employees.

Going forward, you will have 30 days in which to inform new employees with this notice; we recommend adding this document to your standard employee on-boarding packages.

For employers of 25 or more covered individuals...

The total contribution is 0....

September 30, 2019

Today, September 30, is the deadline to file Component 2 EEO-1 for 2017 and 2018 data; however, on September 27, 2019, the EEOC announced in a status report filed in the lawsuit discussing post-September 30th activities that “the report collection will not be complete until it reaches what the Court has determined to be the target response rate…” There is no information on how long the portal will...

September 24, 2019

One threshold in determining whether an employee is non--exempt or exempt under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) is the earnings threshold.  Currently, FLSA Regulations (promulgated by the U.S. Department of Labor) state that employees earning less than $23,600 per year ($455 per week) are nonexempt while Employees who earn more than $100,000 per year are almost certainly exempt.  

On...

September 11, 2019

The Department of Family and Medical Leave (DFML) issued new guidance regarding when 1099-MISC workers should be included in a business’s workforce count and whether the business needs to report them for the purposes of the Paid Family and Medical Leave program.

Over the course of the summer, DFML staff met with representatives from hundreds of businesses across the Commonwealth. During these dis...

September 5, 2019

BACKGROUND. In 2012, the EEOC issued guidance that prohibited employers nationwide from instituting automatic, blanket bans on the hiring of individuals with criminal records, cautioning them away from policies categorically denying employment of convicted felons. In the intervening time, we’ve seen states moving to adopt “Ban the box” – banning employment application questions around convictions,...

August 29, 2019

The Case An Oklahoma Burger King Franchisee has settled a disabilities discrimination suit with the EEOC.  This franchise offered an intellectually disabled applicant a position as a dining-room/restroom attendant after an interview to which the applicant brought a job coach.  When the now prospective employee requested that a job coach provide on-site support, the company withdrew its offer of...

January 1, 2017

The minimum wage will rise in a number of states in 2017. Unless otherwise noted, the following minimum wage rates (per hour) are scheduled to become effective on January 1, 2017:

  • Alaska: $9.80

  • Arizona: $10.00

  • Arkansas: $8.50 for employers with 4 or more employees

  • California: $10.50 for employers with 26 or more employees (for smaller employers, the rate remains $10.00)

  • Colo...

Please reload

Recent Posts

September 24, 2019

Please reload

Archive
Please reload

Search By Tags